History of JKC College


The Nagarjuna Education Society was formed in 1967 by eminent educationists, philanthropists with an aim to serve society in the field of education. It is named after the great Buddhist scholar, Acharya Nagarjuna. The brain-child of the Nagarjuna Education Society is J.K.C. College. The legacy of the college started with its name given after the noble patron and celebrated philanthropist Sri Jagarlamudi Kuppuswamy Choudary.

The college was inaugurated on 19-7-1968 by the late Buddhiraju Ramachandra Rao, M.A.,L.T. a veteran educationist and the first Principal of the Hindu College, Guntur. Prof. K. Satchidananda Murthy, M.A., Ph.D., the Principal, Andhra University Post Graduate Centre, Guntur presided over the inauguration function.

Since the day of its inception J.K.C. College has been progressing in leaps and bounds to reach a unique mark of distinction.


The members of the College Governing Body are enlightened citizens and educationists. Founder President Sri Jagarlamudi Chandramouli, B.A., B.L, Ex-M.P., Ex-M.L.A., Ex-Member of the Syndicate of Acharya Nagarjuna University was a venerable man of high integrity and generous outlook and under his efficient presidentship, which lasted for about two decades, the college achieved all round progress and good reputation.

Dr. K. Sadasiva Rao, the founder Secretary & Correspondent and also a reputed surgeon rendered his invaluable services to the institution over 3 decades by safeguarding the noble objectives of J.K.C. College.

The prominent patrons are Sri Chebrolu Hanumaiah, Ex-MLC and Ex-Minister of Marketing, Govt of A.P. and Sri Y.K.S. Prakasa Rao, B.A., a great philanthropist and educationist.

Dr. Kondabolu Basavapunnaiah, renowned physician and surgeon who succeeded Dr. K. Sadasiva Rao as Secretary and Correspondent and later as President has played a pivotal role in the phenomenal physical and academic growth of the institution, working in tandem with all the members of the Governing Body.

Dr. Rayapati Srinivas, a medical practitioner, Ex-Chairman, Guntur Zilla Parishad and Ex-MLC succeeded Dr. K. Basavapunnaiah as president of Nagarjuna Education Society and its institutions.

A veteran of sports and staunch humanitarian Sri J. Narendernath, son of founder President, Late Sri J. Chandramouli, succeeded Dr. K. Basavapunnaiah as Secretary and Correspondent. In his two and half decades tenure, the college has seen a phenomenal growth in terms of infrastructure and academic excellence. During this period the college was accredited with "A" grade by NAAC and Autonomy status was also confered by UGC.

A prominent industrialist marked for his magnanimity and meticulous vision, Sri Jagarlamudi Murali Mohan, B.Tech., M.B.A., son of founder President, Late Sri J. Chandramouli, has taken up the noble mission of his great predecessors to ensure the quality of higher education. Under his statesmanship J.K.C. College is certain to reach new heights of glory.

Though the college started with humble beginnings, it has steadily grown from strength to strength, acquiring a full-fledged status in a very short time. By achieving remarkable results in the academic sphere, JKC College has carved out a niche for itself in the temple of education in Andhra Pradesh.

The college had its glorious beginnings with an erudite scholar, Sri Yalavarthi Rosayya as its Founder Principal. Here is the succession list of Principals.

  1. Sri Y. Rosayya (1968 - 1976 )
  2. Dr. S. Anantham (1976 - 1980)
  3. Dr. C.N. Sastry (1980 -1984 )
  4. Sri E. Bhaskara Rao (1984 - 1993)
  5. Sri A. Nomula Rao (1993 - 1998)
  6. Sri G. Someswara Sarma (1998 - 2003)
  7. Sri N. Bhushaiah (2003 - 2004)
  8. Sri S.R.K.Prasad (2004 - 2007)
  9. Dr. K.V.N.B. Kumar (2007 - 2014)
  10. Dr. I. Nageswara Rao (2014 - )

The launching of JKC College has breathed life into the slumbering surroundings of Ring Road, a desolate place in 1968. It is now a densely populated area, bustling with hectic activity. Yet the tranquility of yore is preserved intact even after five decades of its inception and classes are run in serene and ideal setting and atmosphere.

It is the fervent prayer and hope of the Nagarjuna Education Society that JKC College shall continue “to strive, to seek, to find and never to yield”. In the relentless pursuit of noble ideals enshrined in the memory of the sage and savant, Acharya Nagarjuna, and never resting on its oars, the college shall be “still achieving and still pursuing”

Golden Jubliee Year:

J.K.C. College has reached another landmark of Golden Jubilee. The inauguration of the Golden Jubilee year (2017-18) is celebrated on July 19th 2017 with great fervour and festivity. College has celebrated the Golden Jubilee on 2nd and 3rd February 2018. Hon'ble Vice President of India, Sri M. Venkaiah Naidu and Hon'ble Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh Sri N. Chandra Babu Naidu graced the occassion.


Nagarjuna Education Society

About Nagarjuna Education Society

The Nagarjuna Education Society (Regd.), Guntur, was established and registered on 27th December, 1967 (No.56 of 1967) under Societies Registration Act, 1860 by philanthropists, medical doctors, industrial and commercial houses and the elite of Guntur with a mission of serving the society through promotion of education, literature and culture.

The following are the objectives of the Society :

  1. 1. To establish, aid and maintain educational, cultural and other institutions to impart education, at all stages, for promotion of literature, arts and science and all other subjects for the dissemination of useful knowledge in Andhra Pradesh.
  2. 2. To raise necessary funds to maintain educational institutions under its management and administer them.
  3. 3. To grant aid to deserving students for promotion of studies.
  4. 4. To arrange 'extension lectures' in one or more branches of knowledge.
  5. 5. To print and publish journals or magazines with articles contributing to the growth of knowledge, human understanding and culture.
  6. 6. To do all such other things as may be conducive to the development or incidental to attain the above objects.

The enthusiasm, spirit of service and the pursuit of objectives have been sustained for the last forty and more years by a succession of members.

Quality of instruction through student-centered teaching, updating the teacher-capability and qualifications, exploiting student talent, developing personality and citizenship in students are the guiding principles in running the institutions. Endeavour is creating high quality infrastructure, the cordial atmosphere on campuses and state-of-the-art system. The members of the governing body of the society are enlightened citizens and educationists.

Allied Institutions...

The Nagarjuna Education Society has established the following institutions:

  1. 1. Jagarlamudi Kuppuswamy Choudary College, Guntur (1968)
  2. 2. S.G.V.R.High School, Perecherla, Guntur(1968)
  3. 3. Dr.K.L.P.Public School, Guntur (1983)
  4. 4. R.V.R.R.College of Education, Guntur (1983)
  5. 5. R.V.R.& J.C.College of Engineering, Guntur (1985)
  6. 6. J.C.College of Law, Guntur (1991)
  7. 7. Chebrolu Hanumaiah Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Guntur (2005)
  8. 8. Madala Sakunthala Bhaskar College of Nursing,Guntur (2006)
  9. 9. Jan Shikshan Sansthan (JSS), JKC College Campus (2006)

Executive Body of Nagarjuna Education Society

President Dr. Rayapati Srinivas
1) Dr. Jagadish K. Maddineni
2) Sri Madala Ratnagiri Babu
3) Sri Chukkapalli Ramesh
Sri Jagarlamudi Murali Mohan
Additional Secretary
Sri Byrapaneni Naresh
Joint Secretary
Dr. Ch. N. Srinivas., MBBS
Dr. Kondabolu Vara Prasad
Sri Rayapati Mohan Sai Krishna
Special Invitees
1) Sri V. Kuppu Swamy
2) Dr. P. Gopichand